Yale University

CIRA Affiliates Honored by Yale School of Public Heatlh

Yale School of Public Health Dean Sten Vermund, M.D. Ph.D. recently announced the school's annual list of faculty and teaching awards. Among the awardees were several CIRA affiliates. Congratulations to all for their efforts and contributions to the school, teaching, research, and collaboration.

Distinguished Student Mentoring Award:

Dr. Ijeoma Opara was named the 2022 Distinguished Student Mentor for being a, "caring and understanding mentor, and an innovative and inspiring public health professional." This award is a high honor that recognizes the recipient as a leader in shaping the next generation of public health professionals.

YSPH Team Science Award (affiliates in italics):

Tyler Shelby, Xin Zhou, Donna Spiegelman, Lauretta Grau, Linda Niccolai and Luke Davis: "Lessons Learned From COVID-19 Contact Tracing During a Public Health Emergency: A Prospective Implementation Study", published in Frontiers in Public Health. The Team Science Research Award is granted to a YSPH group of two or more primary YSPH faculty members, with one member being either first or last author on the published manuscript.

YSPH Health Equity Research Award:

Yusuf Ransome: "Neighborhood Social Cohesion and Inequalities in COVID-19 Diagnosis Rates by Area-Level Black/African American Racial Composition", published in Journal of Urban Health. The YSPH Health Equity Research Award is granted to a YSPH Primary Faculty member's exceptional health equity-related original research published in 2021.

Published: Thursday, June 9, 2022