Yale University

International Visiting Fellow Program

The primary purpose of the International Visiting Fellow Program is to support CIRA investigators engaged in HIV research in an international setting to bring an established or prospective research partner to CIRA and Yale for a short visit (up to 9 days) to work on collaborative HIV research endeavors, present on their research plans, and network with CIRA’s research community. The program prioritizes visiting fellows from a country in regions with the highest burden of HIV/AIDS.

CIRA sponsored four international HIV scholars in 2016, four in 2017, two in 2018, and three in 2019 to work with CIRA scientists affiliated with the Yale Schools of Public Health, Medicine and Nursing. This program has demonstrated potential to sustain ongoing research partnerships, yield new multidisciplinary collaborations, and enhance the scope of CIRA’s research impact. Due to the pandemic, the program was suspended in 2020 through 2022.

For questions about this program, contact Dini Harsono (dini.harsono@yale.edu), Program Director.

Call for Nominations: CIRA International Visiting Fellow Program 2024
The call for nomination for the 2024-2025 cohort is now closed.


2019 Cohort:

  1. Thomas Guadamuz, PhD, MHS (Mahidol University, Thailand) - Jeffrey Wickersham, PhD (Yale School of Medicine)
  2. Marina Njelekela, MD, MPH, PhD (Deloitte Consulting Limited, Tanzania) - Donna Spiegelman, ScD (Yale School of Public Health)
  3. Reena Rajasuriar, PhD (University of Malaya, Malaysia) - Frederick Altice, MD, MA; Julia Rozanova, PhD; Sheela Shenoi, MD, MPH (Yale School of Medicine)

2018 Cohort:

  1. Maretha Visser, PhD (University of Pretoria, South Africa) - Cindy Crusto, PhD (Yale School of Medicine)
  2. Yifei Hu, MD, PhD (Capital Medical University, China) - Sten Vermund, MD, PhD (Yale School of Public Health)

2017 Cohort:

  1. Lisa McDaid, PhD (University of Glasgow, Scotland) - John Pachankis, PhD (Yale School of Public Health)
  2. Venkatesan Chakrapani, MD (Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER) and Centre for Sexuality and Health Research and Policy (C-SHaRP), India) - Trace Kershaw, PhD (Yale School of Public Health)
  3. Iskandar Azwa, MBChB (University of Malaya, Malaysia) - Jeffrey Wickersham, PhD (Yale School of Medicine)
  4. Peter Cherutich, MBChB, PhD, MPH (Ministry of Health, Kenya) - Ann Kurth, PhD, CNM, MPH, FAAN (Yale School of Nursing)

2016 Cohort:

  1. Richard Bränström, PhD (Karolinska Institutet, Sweden) - John Pachankis, PhD (Yale School of Public Health)
  2. Jose Sanchez Fernandez, MD, MPH (Asociación Civil Impacta Salud y Educación, Peru) - Frederick Altice, MD, MA (Yale School of Medicine)
  3. Veena Pillai, MBBS (University of Malaya, Malaysia) - Jeffrey Wickersham, PhD (Yale School of Medicine)
  4. Fouad M. Fouad, MD (American University of Beirut, Lebanon) - Kaveh Khoshnood, PhD (Yale School of Public Health)