Yale University

CIRA Scientist Honored with C.E.A. Winslow Award

Debbie Humphries, PhD, MPH, has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 C.E.A. Winslow Award. The award is presented annually by the CT Public Health Association (CPHA) to a public health professional that has demonstrated leadership and achievement in practice, research and /or education. Dr. Humphries is being recognized for her many contributions to public health in CT and for bringing solid research, vision, and compassion to her work. As a clinical instructor in Epidemiology (microbial diseases) at the Yale School of Public Health she teaches the renowned Practice Based Community Health Research course, which places student groups with agencies around Connecticut where they develop skills in planning and designing research projects with participating organizations that then utilize the results and pilot data to develop strategic plans and apply for grants and consultation services they could not otherwise afford. Dr. Humphries, a member of CIRA's Community Research and Implementation Core, has collaborated with numerous community based HIV prevention and care providers in CT. She is a principal author of the Community Research Assessment Tool (CREAT), a framework for characterizing the research capacity and value of research conducted by public health and community organizations that was conceived by CIRA's Community Research Core. She serves on the leadership committee for AIDS Project New Haven and is a key figure in the CT Public Health Practice Based Research Network (CT PBRN), serving as a principal investigator on several studies that were developed in collaboration with the CT Association of Directors of Health. Her CT PBRN research includes studying the effects of cross-jurisdictional resource sharing on the implementation, scope and quality of public health services in CT. She will receive the award at the CPHA Awards Ceremony and Breakfast on Friday, April 8, 2016 from 8 am to 10 am at the Energize CT Center in North Haven, CT. Registration is just $12 and $10 for students. Click to register!

Published: Monday, April 4, 2016